The OTR is a unique 14 digit ID number allotted to the student and is applicable for the entire career of the student on NSP. The OTR number is issued based on the Aadhaar/Aadhaar Enrolment ID (EID). Active Mobile Number which is linked to the students Aadhaar is mandatory for OTR. The OTR Module will be available to the students across the year for registration. The NSP website link is: https://scholarships.gov.in/

Advertisement: Advertisement of NMMSS is made every year in the month of July/August as per the direction of the Ministry of Education, Government of India, New Delhi.

Application Form: Application Forms can be collected from the State Nodal Officer, NMMSS, SCERT; Nagaland, District Education Officer (District Nodal Officer/DNO for NMMSS) or may be downloaded from SCERT, Nagaland website: https://scert.nagaland.gov.in/



NMMSS Exam-2024

GOVERNMENT OF NAGALAND STATE COUNCIL OF EDUCATIONAL RESEARCH AND TRAINING NAGALAND::KOHIMA

The National Means-Cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme (NMMSS) is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme to award scholarships to the meritorious students of economically weaker sections with the objective to arrest the dropout rate at Class - 8 and encourage them to continue their education at secondary stage.

The SCERT, Nagaland conducts the NMMSS Examination for selection of the students on behalf of the Government of Nagaland.

(KEVIRALE-U KERHUO) Director SCERT, Nagaland: Kohima

NMMSS Cell, SCERT, Nagaland: Kohima Phone No : 0370 - 2260139

National Means Cum Merit Scholarship (NMMSS)

Under this Scheme the Ministry of Education, Government of India, awards 100,000 scholarships every year. The NMMSS scholarship is only for a regular student studying in Government Schools whose parental annual income is not more than Rs. 3,50,000/- from all sources. The qualified students are awarded scholarship amount of Rs. 1,000/- per month from class - 9 to 12. The Scholarship amount will be disbursed in one instalment by the Ministry of Education, Government of India, through the Aadhaar Payment Bridge (APB).

Nagaland has a quota of 180 scholarships under this Scheme which is further divided into District wise Quota.

Procedure for Selection:

The examination consists of two papers - Mental Ability Test (MAT) & Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT): The duration of the examination is 90 minutes for both the papers. Physically Challenged group of children will be given 30 minutes extra time for each paper/test. The maximum mark in each paper is 90.

a) Mental Ability Test (MAT):

MAT consists of 90 Multiple Choice Question (MCQ). The questions in the test may be on Verbal Test such as number based problems, alphabet based problems, coding and decoding, analogy test, venn diagrams related problems, logic based problems, inter-locking regions analytical reasoning etc. and under Non-Verbal Tests questions may be on series, classification/ categorization, analogy tests, completion of figures, mirror image, paper folding and punching etc.

b) Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT):

SAT consists of 90 MCQ covering Science, Social Science and Mathematics as taught in class - 7 and 8.

Eligibility Criteria: Regular Students of class - 8 studying in a Government school, who have passed class - 7 with 50% marks for ST/SC category and 55% marks for General category are eligible to appear for the NMMSS Examination.

Qualifying Marks: Qualifying marks for candidates from General category is 40% in each paper and 32% for ST/SC and Physically Challenged category.

Reservation: 27% OBC (non creamy layer and strictly as per central list), 15% Schedule Caste, 7.5% Schedule Tribe, 4% Physically Challenged (within the category) and 10% Economically Weaker Section (EWS) as per national norms.

For continuing the scholarship, the awardees must pass with 55% marks relaxable by 5% for ST/SC candidates in the first attempt from class - 9 to 12.

The awardees under this NMMSS Scheme must register/renew their scholarships on-line on National Scholarship Portal (NSP).

On qualifying the NMMSS Examination the awardees/candidates will have to open Aadhaar Seeded Bank Account in any Nationalised Bank in their own name and register themselves Online for One-Time Registration (OTR) and face authentication on National Scholarship Portal (NSP) for payment of scholarships.